Interpreting my Teaching Perspective Inventory

As part of the PIDP 3260 course, we were encouraged to take the TPI assessment. It only took a few minutes, but I’m really glad I did.

The following is a screen shot of my results.

TPI

I was smiling to myself as I read through another document on how to interpret your TPI results. I used this one here:

http://blogs.ubc.ca/srikanth/files/2011/12/TPI-Teaching-Perspectives-Summaries.pdf

When I was hired to be an instructor for the Mining Fundamentals program I have instructed the last 3 years, it was more for my experience in the mining industry than any instructional skills. Because the initial program was being held in Dease Lake, BC and required relocation for almost the entire duration of the program (4 months), it was tough for the college to find anyone who wanted to go.

I am always up for an adventure, and because I was fairly well rounded with my mining experience, as well as my experience assisting with training and education on site, I was considered a viable option. I also have lived in a couple small/remote communities and for a number of my youth years lived in another small community only a few hours from Dease Lake, in the Yukon.

As I interpreted my assessment, it was very clear that the reasons I have been asked back by the college are not necessarily due to my in depth knowledge of every aspect of industry. I have been a resource to them because of my ability to immerse myself in remote communities, and guide groups of adult students who have minimal to no post secondary education, some having never traveled as far as the neighboring community.

My ‘Dominant’ perspective is Nurturing. The UBC interpretive guide I used indicated that this perspective is that ‘Effective Teaching assumes that long-term, hard, persistent effort to achieve comes from the heart, not the head.’ Although I think IQ has some to do with ability to retain knowledge, I believe strongly in the idea that if someone wants something badly enough, they can achieve it. Sometimes, working towards that goal of the heart simply opens doors to what our true passion and purpose is, but so be it. Most of the students in my program have a motivating factor of family and community. They are there because this is an opportunity for them to have an income they can count on, while still remaining close to their families and communities. They can be an example for the youth in their communities, and they can achieve this while not having to leave their traditions and their land. There is always the odd student who is there for the wrong reasons, but most of them have this goal in mind, and most of them have achieved it. It is absolutely rewarding to walk around the sponsor mine site 3 years after the first program I taught to see more than half of my original class working and achieving their success.

My ‘Backup’ perspective is Apprenticeship. The guide indicates that having this perspective means that I tend to think ‘Effective teaching is a process of socializing students into new behavioral norms and ways of working.’ I absolutely agree with this being my backup, as I pride myself in my ability to ‘read the room’, and adapt my language and delivery of information appropriately. I choose student engagement techniques, assignments and group work that amplifies the students’ strengths and determine fairly quickly what I expect students to achieve on their own.

I was basically recessive in the other 3 perspectives, with Transmission being right on the recessive line, Developmental and Social Reform being just above that. I do think that depending on what I am teaching, who I am teaching it to, where, and the overall desired result would affect these perspectives, though.

Interestingly, the only column that I was even on the 3 components that make it up was Social Reform. The assessment indicated that what I believe, my intentions and my actions were totally in sync.

I will certainly use this tool again in the future. It is very insightful, and a really great self-assessment.

You can take the same TPI assessment I did here:

http://www.teachingperspectives.com

 

Leave a Reply

